Table of contents

Gego

In 2010 the Kunstmuseum Stuttgart, the University of Stuttgart, and the Wüstenrot Stiftung, launched a joint project to tap into, research, present, and organize educational programing for the work of the artist Gego.

Gertrud Goldschmidt (Hamburg 1912–Caracas, Venezuela 1994), known as Gego, is considered one of Latin America’s best-known women artists, and with the delicate, netlike spatial installations, or "Reticuláreas," she began making in 1969 she became a role model for an entire generation of artists. From 1932 to 1938 Gego studied architecture with Paul Bonatz at the Technical University in Stuttgart. In 1939 she immigrated to Caracas. There, after briefly working as an architect and furniture designer, she began making art in 1953, using the line as her central means of expression.

In 2014 the Kunstmuseum Stuttgart, in collaboration with the Hamburger Kunsthalle and the Henry Moore Institute in Leeds, devoted the monographic exhibition "Gego. Line as Object" to the artist, featuring works from all phases of her oeuvre. In conjunction with the show, in 2017 the Fundación Gego gave the Kunstmuseum ninety drawings, watercolors, and graphics as well as ten objects from the artist’s estate, on permanent loan. The transfer is linked with the hope—also in light of the difficult situation in Venezuela—that here the holdings will be safeguarded, registered, researched, and the results presented. Along with the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston; the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), New York; and the MACBA, Museu d’Art Contemporani de Barcelona, the Kunstmuseum Stuttgart is the fourth and only German museum to hold a large collection of works by the artist.

In addition to the quality and relevance of the works as well as the urgency to secure and examine them, Gego’s connection to the region through her studies in Stuttgart also speak for this research project. It aims at further investigating the impact of Gego’s architectural studies on her art, building on already existing knowledge.

Central to the research project will be a jointly conducted program of events and exhibitions that will present the research results to the public.

  • Gego
    Gego in her studio, around 1978

    Photo: Ricardo Goldman, © Fundación Gego

    Gego in her studio, around 1978
  • Gego graphic
    Gego, Sin titulo (Tamarind 1843 State IV), 1966

    Fundación Gego, permanent loan at the Kunstmuseum Stuttgart, photo: Reinaldo Armas Ponce, © Fundación Gego

    Gego, Sin titulo (Tamarind 1843 State IV), 1966

Thank You.

  • In cooperation with
    Image
    Logo Wüstenrot Stiftung
  • Image
    Logo Uni Stuttgart

Table of contents

Gego

Das Kunstmuseum Stuttgart, die Universität Stuttgart und die Wüstenrot Stiftung haben 2019 ein gemeinsames Projekt zur Erschließung, Erforschung, Sichtbarmachung und Vermittlung des Werks der Künstlerin Gego begonnen.

Gertrud Goldschmidt (Hamburg 1912–1994 Caracas, Venezuela), genannt Gego, zählt zu den bedeutendsten Künstlerinnen Lateinamerikas und wurde mit ihren 1969 begonnenen filigranen, netzartigen Rauminstallationen, den ›Reticuláreas‹, Vorbild für eine ganze Künstlergeneration. Von 1932 bis 1938 studierte sie Architektur an der Technischen Hochschule Stuttgart bei Paul Bonatz. 1939 emigrierte sie nach Caracas. Nach einer kurzen beruflichen Tätigkeit als Architektin und Möbeldesignerin nahm sie dort ab 1953 ihr künstlerisches Werk auf, mit der Linie als ihrem wichtigsten Ausdrucksmittel.

2014 widmete das Kunstmuseum Stuttgart in Kooperation mit der Hamburger Kunsthalle und dem Henry Moore Institute, Leeds, Gego die monografische Ausstellung »Gego. Line as Object« mit Arbeiten aus allen Werkphasen. Aus diesem Anlass überließ die Fundación Gego 2017 dem Kunstmuseum 90 Zeichnungen, Aquarelle und Grafiken sowie 10 Objekte aus dem Nachlass als Dauerleihgabe. Verbunden mit der Hoffnung – und vor dem Hintergrund der schwierigen Lage in Venezuela –, dass hier eine Bestandssicherung, Erfassung, Erforschung und Präsentation der Ergebnisse erfolgen kann. Das Kunstmuseum Stuttgart verfügt damit neben dem Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, dem Museum of Modern Art (MoMa), New York, und dem MACBA, Barcelona, als viertes und einziges deutsches Museum über ein großes Konvolut an Arbeiten der Künstlerin.

Neben der Qualität und Aktualität der Werke sowie der Dringlichkeit, diese zu sichern und aufzuarbeiten, spricht für dieses Forschungsprojekt der lokale Bezug durch Gegos Studium in Stuttgart. Es möchte den Anteil des Stuttgarter Architekturstudiums in Gegos Werk auf der Basis der bereits bestehenden Erkenntnisse weiter aufarbeiten.

Zentral für das Forschungsprojekt wird eine Anfang 2022 gemeinsam durchgeführte Ausstellung sein, die die Forschungsergebnisse an die Öffentlichkeit tragen wird.

  • Gego
    Gego in ihrem Atelier, um 1978

    Foto: Ricardo Goldman, © Fundación Gego

    Gego in ihrem Atelier, um 1978
  • Gego Grafik
    Gego, Sin titulo (Tamarind 1843 State IV), 1966

    Fundación Gego, Dauerleihgabe im Kunstmuseum Stuttgart, Foto: Reinaldo Armas Ponce, © Fundación Gego  

    Gego, Sin titulo (Tamarind 1843 State IV), 1966

DANKE.

  • In Kooperation mit
    Image
    Logo Wüstenrot Stiftung
  • Image
    Logo Uni Stuttgart