Table of contents

Museum Haus Dix

In the Footsteps of an Artist Family

At the Museum Haus Dix visitors can experience the everyday life of an artist family in the postwar period. Here, in the former studio and residential house overlooking Lake Constance lived the artist Otto Dix, together with his wife, Martha, and their three children from 1936 until his death, in 1969. A media guide leads visitors through the rooms with their histories, which remain fascinating today. The idyllic garden with its several terraces and the museum café invite you to linger.

From Dresden to Lake Constance

Born in Untermhaus (now a district of Gera), Otto Dix is considered one of the most important artists of the twentieth century and became a leading exponent of the New Objectivity in the 1920s. When the National Socialists came to power, in 1933, his work was denounced as degenerate. Dix also had to give up his professorship at the Dresden Academy of Fine Arts. But leaving the country was out of the question for him: "How could you emigrate when you have a stable full of pictures here? The Nazis would have come and confiscated everything. That would have been simply unacceptable!"

Instead, the family relocated to Randegg in 1933. In 1936 they moved into their newly built house in Hemmenhofen—in close proximity to the neutral Swiss shore. This break in Dix's life also had an impact on his artistic work. While his art had previously been characterized by subjects such as war and the metropolis, Dix increasingly devoted himself to the landscape around Lake Constance in his works.

"A beautiful paradise. Beautiful enough to make you puke. I’m standing in front of the landscape like a cow."
Otto Dix

The Residence

Thanks to an inheritance, Martha Dix was able to acquire the property in what was even then a prime location. The spacious house was designed by the Dresden architect Arnulf Schelcher. Its characteristic features include the studio window on the east side, the wrap-around balcony, and numerous windows overlooking the lake.

The interior of the house is divided into three stories: the kitchen along with the living, dining, and music rooms are located on the ground floor. Otto Dix's studio and Martha Dix's salon are found on the second floor, and on the third floor are the rooms that belonged to the couple's children, Nelly (1923–1955), Ursus (1927–2002), and Jan Dix (1928–2019).

During guided tours visitors can also view the basement; its walls were painted by Dix and a few of his guests during a carnival party in 1966. The motifs show figures from the Alemannic carnival, or "Fastnacht," but also caricatures of friends and famous people. The wall paintings were long hidden behind bookshelves and first rediscovered in the course of extensive restoration work done in December 2012.

The Museum Haus Dix Concept

For the renovation of the house in accordance with monument-preservation specifications, a special type of reconstruction was developed that both recreates this historical site and brings the history of the era and its art to life. Paintings and graphics are presented in annually changing exhibitions. Reproductions on the walls stand in for works that once hung in the family’s living area and are now scattered around the world in museums and private collections. To convey the temporal distance from the present, the images appear as if they had left an imprint on the wall.

A media guide accompanies visitors through the house and the garden. It provides information on works of art and Dix family life and recounts personal anecdotes from Jan Dix.

The house and garden were registered in the monument registry of the State of Baden-Württemberg in 2005. In 2010 the Otto-Dix-Haus Foundation had the ensemble restored in accordance with monument-preservation standards and equipped for museum operation. In
2013 the foundation transferred it to the Kunstmuseum Stuttgart, which holds one of the world's leading collections of works by Dix.

Museum Haus Dix

Otto-Dix-Weg 6
78343 Gaienhofen-Hemmenhofen
+49 (0)7735 / 93 71 60
dix [at] kunstmuseum-stuttgart [dot] de

Opening Hours

Season until October 31, 2022
Tuesday to Sunday 11 am–6 pm
Monday closed

Admission

6 € / 4 €
Children and young people (ages 6–14) 2 €
Family 12 €
Bodensee Card West 5 €
On presentation Ticket Kunstmuseum Stuttgart 5 € / 4 €
Combi Ticket Hesse-Dix (Hesse Museum Gaienhofen / Museum Haus Dix) 9 € / 6 €

Tours (in German)

Every 2nd and 4th Sunday, 2 pm and 3.30 pm
€ 2.50 / € 1.50 (plus admission)
Reservation is requested via +49 (0)7735 / 93 71 60 or dix [at] kunstmuseum-stuttgart [dot] de.
The basement can only be visited with a guided tour.

The Gold and Silversmith Jan Dix

The 2022 presentation at Museum Haus Dix focuses at the creative work of Jan Dix (1928–2019), the youngest of the three children of Martha (1895–1985) and Otto Dix (1891–1969). Following his training as a jazz trumpeter, Jan Dix completed an apprenticeship as a gold and silversmith, which was succeeded by studies at the Academy of Fine Arts in Munich. He lived and worked in Öhningen until his death.

For his childhood home, today’s Museum Haus Dix, Jan Dix created the double-leaf iron gate at the entrance to the property as well as the handle of the front door in the shape of a lion. The exhibition presents selected pieces of jewelry and small sculptures by Jan Dix. Similar to his father, the son’s jewelry designs also reveal a tendency towards figurative, biblical and mythological narratives.

Table of contents

Museum Haus Dix

Auf den Spuren einer Künstlerfamilie

Im Museum Haus Dix wird der Alltag einer Künstlerfamilie in der Nachkriegszeit erfahrbar. In dem einstigen Atelier- und Wohnhaus mit Blick auf den Bodensee lebte der Maler Otto Dix mit seiner Frau Martha und den drei Kindern von 1936 bis zu seinem Tod 1969. Ein Mediaguide führt die Besucher:innen durch die Räume mit ihren Geschichten, die noch heute faszinieren. Der idyllische Garten mit zahlreichen Terrassen und das Museumscafé laden zum Verweilen ein.

Von Dresden an den Bodensee

Otto Dix, geboren 1891 in Untermhaus (heute Stadtteil von Gera), zählt zu den wichtigsten Malern des 20. Jahrhunderts und wurde in den 1920er-Jahren zum führenden Vertreter der Neuen Sachlichkeit. Als 1933 die Nationalsozialisten an die Macht kamen, wurde sein Werk als entartet diffamiert. Dix musste auch seinen Lehrstuhl an der Kunstakademie Dresden aufgeben. Außer Landes zu gehen, kam für ihn jedoch nicht infrage: »Wie konnte man denn emigrieren, wenn man hier einen Stall voll Bilder hat? Da wären die Nazis gekommen und hätten alles beschlagnahmt. Das ist doch unmöglich!«

Die Familie siedelte stattdessen 1933 nach Randegg über. 1936 bezogen sie ihr neu errichtetes Haus in Hemmenhofen – in unmittelbarer Nähe zum neutralen Schweizer Ufer. Dieser Einschnitt in Dixʼ Leben hatte auch Einfluss auf sein künstlerisches Schaffen: Waren es zuvor Themen wie Krieg oder die Großstadt, die sein Werk prägten, so widmete sich Dix in seinen Arbeiten zunehmend der Landschaft am Bodensee.

»Ein schönes Paradies. Zum Kotzen schön. Ich müsste in die Großstadt! Ich stehe vor der Landschaft wie eine Kuh.«
Otto Dix

Das Wohnhaus

Dank einer Erbschaft war es Martha Dix möglich, das Grundstück in schon damals bester Lage zu erwerben. Das großzügige Haus wurde von dem Dresdner Architekten Arnulf Schelcher entworfen. Charakteristisch sind das Atelierfenster an der Ostseite, der umlaufende Balkon sowie zahlreiche Fenster, die den Blick auf den See freigeben.

Im Inneren gliedert sich das Haus in drei Etagen: Küche, Ess-, Wohn- und Musikzimmer sind im Erdgeschoss. Im ersten Stockwerk befinden sich das Atelier von Otto Dix und der Salon von Martha Dix, im zweiten die Zimmer der Kinder Nelly (1923–1955), Ursus (1927–2002) und Jan Dix (1928–2019).

Bei Führungen kann auch der Keller besichtigt werden, dessen Wände Dix und einige seiner Gäste bei einem Fastnachtsfest 1966 bemalten. Die Motive zeigen Figuren aus der alemannischen Fastnacht, aber auch Karikaturen von Freunden oder berühmten Persönlichkeiten. Die Wandmalereien waren lange hinter Regalen versteckt und wurden erst im Zuge umfangreicher Restaurierungsmaßnahmen im Dezember 2012 wiederentdeckt.

Konzept Museum Haus Dix

Für das denkmalgerecht restaurierte Wohnhaus wurde eine besondere Art der Rekonstruktion entwickelt, die diesen historischen Ort wiederherstellt und zugleich Zeit- und Kunstgeschichte lebendig werden lässt. In jährlich wechselnden Ausstellungen werden Gemälde und Grafiken von Otto Dix präsentiert. Auf jene Werke, die einst im Wohnbereich der Familie hingen und sich heute weltweit verstreut in Museen und Sammlungen befinden, verweisen Reproduktionen an den Wänden. Um die zeitliche Distanz zur Gegenwart deutlich zu machen, wirken die Bilder deshalb so, als hätten sie einen Abdruck an der Wand hinterlassen.

Ein Mediaguide begleitet die Besucher:innen durch das Haus und den Garten. Er gibt Auskunft zu Kunstwerken, zum Familienleben in Haus und Garten und schildert persönliche Anekdoten von Jan Dix.

Haus und Garten wurden 2005 in das Denkmalbuch des Landes Baden-Württemberg eingetragen. 2010 wurde das Ensemble von der Otto-Dix-Haus-Stiftung e.V. denkmalgerecht saniert und museal ausgestattet. 2013 übergab es der Verein an das Kunstmuseum Stuttgart, das eine der weltweit bedeutendsten Dix-Sammlungen besitzt.

Museum Haus Dix

Otto-Dix-Weg 6
78343 Gaienhofen-Hemmenhofen
+49 (0)7735 / 93 71 60
dix [at] kunstmuseum-stuttgart [dot] de

Öffnungszeiten

Saison ab 18. März 2023

Eintritt

6 € / 4 €
Kinder und Jugendliche (6–14 Jahre) 2 €
Familien 12 €
Bodensee Card West 5 €
Mit Ticket Kunstmuseum Stuttgart 5 € / 4 €
Kombiticket Hesse-Dix (Hesse Museum Gaienhofen / Museum Haus Dix) 9 € / 6 €

Führungen

Jeden 2. und 4. Sonntag im Monat
jeweils 14 Uhr und 15:30 Uhr
2,50 € / 1,50 € (zzgl. Eintritt)
Um Voranmeldung wird gebeten unter +49 (0)7735 / 93 71 60 oder dix [at] kunstmuseum-stuttgart [dot] de.
Der Keller kann nur im Rahmen einer Führung besichtigt werden.

Standesamtliche Trauungen
im Museum Haus Dix

Standesamt Gemeinde Gaienhofen
Doris Weber
+49 (0)7735 / 99 99 114
doris [dot] weber [at] gaienhofen [dot] de

Förderverein Museum Haus Dix
Hemmenhofen e.V.

+49 (0)7735 / 93 82 91
info [at] foerderverein-museum-haus-dix [dot] de
foerderverein-museum-haus-dix.de

Der Gold- und Silberschmied Jan Dix

Die Präsentation 2022 im Museum Haus Dix nimmt das kreative Wirken von Jan Dix (1928–2019), dem jüngsten der drei Kinder von Martha (1895–1985) und Otto Dix (1891–1969) in den Blick. Nach einer Ausbildung zum Jazztrompeter machte Jan Dix eine Lehre als Gold- und Silberschmied, an die er ein Studium an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in München anschloss. Er lebte und arbeitete bis zu seinem Tod in Öhningen.

Für sein Elternhaus, das heutige Museum Haus Dix, schuf Jan Dix das zweiflügelige Eisentor am Eingang des Grundstücks sowie den Griff der Haustür in Form eines Löwen. Die Ausstellung präsentiert ausgewählte Schmuckstücke und Kleinplastiken von Jan Dix. Ähnlich wie bei seinem Vater wird auch in den Schmuckgestaltungen des Sohnes der Hang zum Figürlichen, zu biblischen und mythologischen Erzählungen deutlich.